An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NEWS | April 12, 2007

Team Charleston : No one comes close

By Staff Sgt. Alice Moore 437th Airlift Wing Public Affairs

Team Charleston members and base organizations continue to set the standard for others to follow Air Force wide. 

There were numerous accomplishments made by individuals and units during 2006 to the present.

437th Airlift Wing Staff 

The 437th Comptroller Squadron was recognized as the Air Force 2006 Financial Services Office of the Year and as the Air Force Comptroller Squadron Office of the Year. Lt. Col. Chuck Shea was recognized as the Air Force's 2006 Comptroller of the Year and Capt. Michelle Kinlock was recognized as the Air Force's 2006 Financial Services Officer of the Year. 

Capt. Myers Gray, 437th AW Safety Office was selected as the Air Mobility Command 2006 Safety Officer of the Year. 

The 437th Airlift Wing Protocol office was selected for AMC's 2006 George Washington Protocol Office of the Year. This was the Protocol Office's third consecutive time being chosen. 

The 437 AW Legal Office was selected for AMC's 2006 Excellence in Discipline Award. This was the Legal Office's second time in a row being chosen for the award. They were also recognized as AMC's 2006 Legal Office of the Year. Karen Hennigan was selected as AMC's Outstanding Civilian Attorney. 

Tech. Sgt. Paul Kilgallon, 437 AW Public Affairs, was recognized as AMC's 2006 Outstanding New Writer. Senior Airman Sam Hymas, 437 AW Public Affairs, was recognized by AMC for designing the best graphic. The Airlift Dispatch took third place for the best newspaper category in AMC.

437th Operations Group 

The 14th Airlift Squadron flew 12,000 mishap-free flying hours in 2006. The 15th Airlift Squadron was the first squadron to deploy with all of the crews being from the same squadron. They didn't deploy with any personnel from any other operations group flying squadrons. 

The 16th Airlift Squadron devised the wing's first Hurricane Katrina response with seven crews ready. More than 480 victims were taken to safety within the first 24-hours. The squadron also flew the last C-17 from Rhein-Main Air Base. The flight was viewed by millions on live international television. 

The 17th Airlift Squadron flew more than 40 sorties and more than 140 flying hours in support of the non-combatant evacuation operation of Lebanon. The missions facilitated the rescue of 620 non-combatant evacuees and 886,000 pounds of equipment from Lebanon. 

The 437th Operations Support Squadron's Life Support Flight was recognized as the most compliant shop in AMC despite being 50 percent manned. Maj. Leonard Kosinski, 437 OSS, was awarded the 2007 Federal Asian/Pacific American Council Military Meritorious Service Award.

437th Maintenance Group 

The 437th Maintenance Group set the standard with the highest mission capable rate in the history of the base with 88.5 percent in December. As one of the base's lean agents they led and supported more than 12 AFSO 21 initiatives including rapid parts delivery, consolidated tool kit and aircraft ground equipment. 

The 437th Maintenance Squadron was awarded the Secretary of Defense Field-Level Maintenance Award for 2006. 

The group set a record for themselves when they launched the aircraft for the world-record 20-ship C-17 formation in December. The formation marked the most C-17s launched at once from one base. 

Capt. Brian Waller, 437th Maintenance Squadron, was recognized as the 2006 AMC Aircraft Maintenance Company Grade Officer of the Year. Senior Master Sgt. Charles Morris, 437th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, was recognized as the 2006 AMC Aircraft Maintenance Support Senior NCO of the Year.

437th Mission Support Group 

The 437th Civil Engineer Squadron Fire Department and Environmental Flight were recognized as best in the Air Force. 

The 437 CES was recognized as the 2006 AMC Outstanding small Civil Engineer Squadron. 

The 437th Logistics Readiness Squadron coordinated with all base organizations to select the proper mix of vehicles that could be turned in while minimizing operational impact. More than 80 vehicles were selected and returned for a cost savings of more than $280,000. 

The 437th Mission Support Squadron successfully converted 209 non-bargaining unit employees to National Security Personnel System Oct. 15 with less than a .5 percent error rate. The 437th Services Squadron was awarded five stars in 2006. The Honor Guard performed more than 400 details. 

The 437th Communications Squadron worked with AMC's first IP-based surveillance camera system enabling the base command post and security forces to remotely monitor and record video from seven cameras strategically positioned across the base.
The 437th Security Forces Squadron deployed more than 140 Airmen to seven countries in support of Operations Enduring and Iraqi Freedom. 

The 437th Contracting Squadron was recognized as AMC's 2006 Outstanding small Contracting Unit. They were the only contracting squadron in AMC to exceed all five small business goals by directly supporting the small business act. The 437th Aerial Port Squadron became the only aerial port for all Operation Iraqi Freedom channel air cargo in January 2007. The 437 APS was also recognized as the 2006 AMC Air Terminal Operations Flight of the Year, Aerial Port Mobility Flight of the year, Air Freight Flight of the Year and Fleet Service Flight of the Year.

437th Medical Group 

The 437th Medical Group was able to reduce appointment line hold times and dropped calls by 65 percent. The group established local TRICARE service center and referral management center serving 12,000 beneficiaries. 

The 437 MDG Bioenvironmental Engineering Flight was recognized as the best in the Air Force for 2006. The 437 MDG laboratory received top accreditation rating. Tech. Sgt. Elliot Reed, 437 Medical Group, was selected for the Air Force's 2006 Chief of Safety Medical Achievement Award. Capt. Jon Ehrenfried was selected as the Air Force's 2006 Air Force Physical Therapist of the Year. Capt. Chris Palumbo was selected as the Air Force's 2006 Young Healthcare Administrator Award. Staff Sgt. Liana Santana was selected as AMC's Pharmacy Technician of the Year. Gaye Adams was selected as AMC's Outstanding Dental Civilian of the Year.