NEWS | Sept. 30, 2015

15th Airlift Squadron celebrates 75th Anniversary

By Seamus O'Boyle Joint Base Charleston Public Affairs

The Global Eagles of the Air Force 15th Airlift Squadron celebrated their 75th Anniversary during the Eagle Feather event held aboard the museum ship, USS Yorktown, on Sept. 19, 2015, in Charleston, S.C.

Eagle Feather is a gathering held periodically to honor the history of the 15th AS, name new inductees to the Global Eagle Hall of Fame and announce high level award winners.

"The Global Eagles are an amazing team of Airmen and civilians. Last year, we were privileged to execute some very hi-vis missions to include the humanitarian airdrops in Iraq on Mt Sinjar. We were very happy and honored to win both the 2014 General Joseph Smith Trophy (#1 airlift squadron in AMC) and the General Doolittle Trophy for our historic year, said Lt. Col. Cassius T. Bentley, 15 AS commander. It was especially rewarding to announce the awards as we were celebrating our Squadron 's 75th Anniversary and legacy."

The 15th AS began in Duncan, TX flying two engine propeller planes but quickly transitioned to the C-33, 39, 47 and 54 through the early 1940's to the 1950's. Eventually, the 15th AS moved to the C-124 Globemaster II and the C-141 Starlifter from the early 1950's through the late 1990's. Today, the 15th AS flies the C-17 Globemaster III carrying out world-wide missions in support of the nation.

Throughout its history the 15th AS operated out of numerous bases around the world and has participated in every major conflict since World War II.

This year the Global Eagles added six new members to their Hall of Fame:

Brigadier General (Ret) James Cross (C-124 Pilot, Donaldson AFB, SC) (Posthumous)

Master Sergeant (Ret) Gordon MacDougall (C-141 Special Operations Loadmaster)

Lieutenant Colonel (Ret) Marc Tessier (C-17A Special Operations Evaluator Pilot)

Master Sergeant (Ret) Jim Cheesborough (C-141 Loadmaster, 437 AW Mission Bookie)

Major General (Ret) Martin M. Mazick (C-141 Evaluator Pilot, Norton AFB) 

Master Sergeant René "Red" Delarosa (C-141B Loadmaster, C-17A Evaluator Loadmaster)

The Doolittle award winners were:

Captain Gabriel West

Captain Michael Osgood

Captain Scott Levin

CMSgt Michael Cumberland