NEWS | Oct. 31, 2012

Mobility Airmen to honor Gen. Johns with Order of Sword

By Staff Sgt. Amber Kelly-Herard Air Mobility Command Public Affairs

Air Mobility Command enlisted men and women will present Gen. Raymond E. Johns Jr., the prestigious Order of the Sword in a formal ceremony here, Nov. 28, at 6:30 p.m. in the Scott Club. More than 300 Airmen from across the command are expected to attend.

Johns was formally notified of his selection for this award in August amidst a sea of Airmen in front of the Headquarters Air Mobility Command building.

"We were able to keep it a total surprise, and he was quite humbled with the honor," said Chief Master Sgt. Andy Kaiser, AMC command chief. "As General Johns relinquishes command of AMC, this is an opportunity for the enlisted corps to recognize him for all he has done in support of Mobility Airmen around the globe."

The Order of the Sword is the highest honor enlisted Airmen can bestow upon a leader. The ceremony is conducted by NCOs to honor leaders who have made significant contributions to the enlisted corps. The sword is presented as a symbol of truth, justice and power rightfully used.

During his three-plus years of command, Johns has been instrumental in driving the funding and professional development of nearly 500 key quality of life initiatives, positively impacting more than 135,000 Mobility Air Forces Airmen and their families worldwide.

"General Johns understands that Mobility Airmen can be tasked at any time to answer the call of others and be taken away from their families," said Kaiser, who will serve as the Chief Master Sergeant of the Mess at the event. "He appreciates the fact they remain ready to respond at a moment's notice, and values the contributions that each Airman brings to the fight."

"The Order of the Sword ceremony is a rare event that not everyone will get a chance to witness in their military careers," said Kaiser. "I encourage the AMC enlisted members who are able to attend to take advantage of this historic opportunity."

Johns will become the tenth recipient of AMC's Order of the Sword. Previous recipients include: Gen. Arthur Lichte, Gen. Duncan McNabb, Gen. John W. Handy, Gen. Charles T. Robertson, Brig. Gen. Steven A. Roser, Gen. Walter Kross, Lt. Gen. Malcolm B. Armstrong, Gen. Ronald Fogleman and Gen. Hansford T. Johnson.

Enlisted members interested in attending this event should contact their respective command chief for additional details and ticket information.