NEWS | Sept. 28, 2017

Team Charleston celebrates Air Force’s 70th Anniversary

By Staff Sgt. Andrea Salazar Joint Base Charleston Public Affairs

U.S. Air Force retirees Tech. Sgt. Leonard Flesher, left, and Tech. Sgt. Samuel Fried, perform the ceremonial cake cutting with Airman 1st Class Lorelie Budionganon, 628th Force Support Squadron personnel specialist, to celebrate the Air Force’s 70th Anniversary at the Charleston Club, Sept. 22, 2017. The U.S. Army Air Forces became the Department of the Air Force after the National Security Act of 1947 was signed. W. Stuart Symington, the first Secretary of the Air Force, was sworn into office Sept. 18, 1947.